10
Feb
10

Purity as the key to joining heaven and earth…

Taking a step back to the previous volume…

If we look on idly, heaven and earth will never be joined. To join heaven and earth, some decisive deed of purity is necessary. To accomplish so resolute an action, you have to stake your life, giving no thought to personal gain or loss. You have to turn into a dragon and stir up a whirlwind, tear the dark, brooding clouds asunder and soar up into the azure-blue sky.

– Yukio Mishima, “Runaway Horses” (Chapter 37)

5 Responses to “Purity as the key to joining heaven and earth…”


  1. 1 ian
    February 11, 2010 at 08:40

    Man, this one hits me deep…

    I am in need of momentum.

  2. 2 jaiminyoon
    February 11, 2010 at 17:18

    Noticed Reclusland was quiet until today. Has work been particularly busy the past few days?

    When Mishima isn’t being psychotic and masturbating (literally and figuratively) to death, he reminds me of a Japanese Emerson with his adulation of the human spirit—at least in one’s youth.

  3. 3 ian
    February 12, 2010 at 09:20

    Yeah, reclusland’s kind of on hold at the moment. My brain seems tired out. I have Monday off though, and I’m hoping to get some new content up soon.

    Mishima should have stuck with the adulation of the spirit and skipped the whole psychosis bit. That’d my recommendation. Does this mean you’re reading Mishima and Nabakov at the same time, or just typing up old Mishima passages along with new Nabakov? I am impressed either way, and a bit jealous. One day I will find a way to free up the space in my head to allow for such things…

  4. 4 jaiminyoon
    February 12, 2010 at 10:27

    You’ve spoiled us with such frequent updating in the past! 😉 I hope the “down” (I hate the connotation that word implies) time is rejuvenating for you.

    It’s interesting to imagine a Mishima without the chauvinism, self-destruction, and fanaticism. I’m trying to imagine how Mishima would picture such a self for himself. He would probably consider himself emasculated or a woman. Such a bastard in some ways. 🙂

    I’m juggling Mishima and Nabakov at the same time, but it’s not as crazy as it seems, because the Nabakov is in the form of short stories. I read one story in the morning and one right before going to bed. I definitely would not be able to manage two novels at once.

    Just finished the third volume in the “Sea of Fertility” tetralogy by Mishima and moving onto the final and fourth volume. An omnibus collection of “Confessions of a Mask”, “The Temple of the Golden Pavilion”, and “The Sailor who Fell from Grace with the Sea” (such a sweet deal at Amazon for ~14 bucks with S&H included) is currently on its way. I’ll probably continue to work on Mishima’s novels while sampling from Nabokov and Borges’ short stories. Very tempted to order Nabokov’s novels too, but I’ll wait until I get through all the Mishima first.

    Providing you with the link to the Mishima omnibus.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000CS1YZ0/sr=8-7/qid=1265995167/ref=olp_product_details?ie=UTF8&me=&qid=1265995167&sr=8-7&seller=

  5. 5 ian
    February 12, 2010 at 10:57

    Nice. I like that, the short stories as a kind of apertif/digestif.

    Added the omnibus to my wishlist. It was in need of more fiction. 🙂


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


